Something new.

5 01 2011

I wrote this last night as I was trying to fall asleep:

I think that things feel the way they do for a reason. Some things feel good because we’re supposed to be doing them, and things we shouldn’ t do feel bad. For example, pain and sex, basic survival instincts. Pain tells us “Stop, there’s something wrong.” and we investigate, saving ourselves. Sex feels good, (or so I’ve heard) and the species survives. The reason we’re chemically attracted to people is because they’d make better mates, etc. Of course, there are the exceptions; vegetables suck generally and fat tastes like melted heaven, and so on. But those are there to build character, to make life more than just right and wrong, black and white. And honestly, broccoli cooked right tastes way better than McDonald’s ever will. Everything has a point. Islam has terrible restrictions, but because Muslim artists were forced to focus on creating patterns, we have the Alhambra:

 

Not to be morbid, but every massacre fights overpopulation. Everything that occurs inspires art, music, outpourings of emotion. They allow us to connect as people. I even have to give a little credit to the idiots of the world. Ridiculous, bigoted political ignoramuses are on the rise, and thanks to their outspoken idiocy, I’ve become aware of how uninformed I’ve always been, and now I actively work to remedy that. Every time I work to impress a guy, regardless of whether I succeed or not, I really end up impressing myself. What I’m trying to say is that everything leads up to something, and, in that, everything has a little good in it. This may not ease suffering or negate the horrors of the world, but it at least can assure us and help us through our darker times. It’s nice to know that something new will always happen.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment